Scholarships and Awards


Henry A Rosso Award for Philanthropy

Henry Rosso’s contribution to ethical fundraising in New Zealand, America and other parts of the world has long been recognised. For over five decades he advanced the work and lives of fundraising professionals.

Hank is one of the most beloved and respected masters in the fundraising field; recognised as the person who has most shaped present fundraising practice and theory. His teaching and efforts were instrumental in founding The Fund Raising School, a programme at the Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University, USA.

In 1985, he made one of several teaching visits to New Zealand, and along with James Mutch (through Zealandia Associates) ran a series of fundraising workshops. The funds left over from those workshops was held to benefit fundraising in New Zealand. That sum eventually doubled and the Henry A Rosso Award was subsequently established.

Henry A Rosso Award for Philanthropy - Roll of Honour

2014 James T Mutch

2012 Frank Claridge

2010 Hon Peter Dunne

2001 Sir Stephen Tindall

Sir John Todd

John Sutherland

Sir Roy McKenzie

2000 Dame Rosemary Horton

Wayne McKenzie

1996 JB Munro

1993 John Dear

1992 Erica Brash


Watch this space for new award winners


Watch this space for new scholarship opportunities

FINZ Partners: