Henry A Rosso Award for Philanthropy


Henry Rosso’s contribution to ethical fundraising in New Zealand, America and other parts of the world has long been recognised. For over five decades he advanced the work and lives of fundraising professionals.

Rosso is one of the most beloved and respected masters in the fundraising field; recognised as the person who has most shaped present fundraising practice and theory. His teaching and efforts were instrumental in founding The Fund Raising School, a programme at the Center on Philanthropy at Indiana University, USA.

In 1985, he made one of several teaching visits to New Zealand, and along with James Mutch (through Zealandia Associates) ran a series of fundraising workshops. The funds left over from those workshops was held to benefit fundraising in New Zealand. That sum eventually doubled and the Henry A Rosso Award was subsequently established.

Learn More about the FINZ Fellows

Preamble and Criteria

FINZ Board resolved that the Henry Rosso Award should be granted solely:

“For engaging in significantly valuable activity over and above one’s normal activities and this has created long-term beneficial effects upon philanthropy and/or the fundraising profession.”

Eleven awards have been made since the Award began in 1992 and there is no obligation to make an award every year if no suitable candidate has emerged, nor should awards be limited to one in any one year if more than one should be made. Persons visiting from overseas can be given the award as, when, and in, what numbers are considered appropriate. An award may also be granted to someone who is not a Member of FINZ for their outstanding contribution to fundraising in New Zealand.

A Citation Letter stating simply and concisely why the Award has been conferred accompanies each award and is read aloud at its presentation.

Unlike other awards, this is not open to general application and is on the exclusive recommendation of the FINZ Fellows to Board.

Honorary FINZ Membership for Awardees

In 2010, the FINZ Board resolved that this Award should also carry with it an Honorary Membership of FINZ for future Awardees. The Hon Peter Dunne was thus made a FINZ Honorary Member.

The FINZ Constitution reads:

4.2 Membership categories are as follows:

(e) Honorary Membership may be conferred upon a person, not necessarily a fundraiser, who because of distinguished, generous or otherwise meritorious services to the fundraising profession deserves to be honoured by the Institute. Honorary Members hold no voting rights and are not eligible to hold office.

5.6 Honorary Membership may be conferred by the Council at its sole discretion on the recommendation of not less than three (3) voting Members which shall contain such details as shall be necessary to support it.

Application Process

FINZ Fellows interested in proposing a person for this Award are invited to do so in alignment with the FINZ Fundraising Excellence Awards, meeting the same deadline as the Awards each year, to the National Office who will prepare the necessary information and forward it to the FINZ Fellows for recommendation to the FINZ Board.

Hank Rosso Nomination

Henry A Rosso Award for Philanthropy - Roll of Honour

2014 James T Mutch
2012 Frank Claridge
2010 Hon Peter Dunne
2001 Sir Stephen Tindall
  Sir John Todd
  John Sutherland
  Sir Roy McKenzie
2000 Dame Rosemary Horton
  Wayne McKenzie
1996 JB Munro
1993 John Dear
1992 Erica Brash


Our Supporters:

ANZ Staff Foundation logo
NZ Lotteries Foundation